Skip to Content

Dean Michelle Sabick Recognized as a Fellow of the American Society of Biomechanics

Back to Article Listing


Shailyn Lineberry

Blog  •

Dr. Michelle Sabick, Dean of the Ritchie School of Engineering and Computer Science and biomechanics researcher, has been recognized as a Fellow of the American Society of Biomechanics. Throughout her career, Dean Sabick has been deeply involved in the American Society of Biomechanics (ASB), serving in several leadership roles including Newsletter Editor, Communications Chair, and President. The ASB was founded in 1977 by a group of 53 scientists, including Dr. James Hay, who was one of Dean Sabick’s PhD advisors at the University of Iowa.   

According to the American Society of Biomechanics, the ASB aims to encourage and foster the exchange of information and ideas among biomechanists working in different disciplines and to facilitate the development of biomechanics as a basic applied science. Each year, the ASB convenes to discuss the latest biomechanics research. This year the ASB gathered along with the Canadian Society of Biomechanics at the North American Congress on Biomechanics. Dean Sabick returned from the conference a few days ago, where she and four other recipients were inducted as ASB Fellows.

Dean Sabick is one of only 52 biomechanists who has been recognized as an ASB Fellow since the award’s creation. The Fellow award recognizes top members of the ASB for their professional achievements and continued service to the Society in a leadership role. A current ASB Fellow must nominate a Prospective Fellow before the review and confirmation process. Aside from performing biomechanics research, ASB Fellows focus on providing mentorship, leadership, and professional service. Dean Sabick looks forward to her continued leadership in the Society and welcomes opportunities for current Ritchie School students to become involved with the ASB.

Congratulations to the 2022 American Society of Biomechanics Fellows:

  • B.J. Fregly, Rice University
  • Steve Kautz, Medical University of South Carolina
  • William R. Ledoux, VA Puget Sound
  • Michelle Sabick, University of Denver
  • Katherine Saul, North Carolina State University

Learn more about this year’s North American Congress on Biomechanics.